Love & the Lack Thereof

an ache for a distant place

take me back to the place where we were free,

away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and its rhythm that we struggle to keep up with,

and in sync with the riffs and runs of the trumpets and the saxophones and all the other musicians who called the streets their home.

take me back to the comforts of guided daytrips,

scenic routes,

and lands that have made their mark on history.

take me back to songs sung in spirit of camaraderie,

to when laughter wasn’t scarce.

take me back to the moment you were waiting in the corner

and asked me to dance.

take me back to the six minutes that our two left feet tried to dance

but we were completely immersed in nervousness…and our song.

take me back to youthful innocence.

take me back to the place where we were allowed to sing our song;

take me back to the place that knew we weren’t too young to be in love.

– c.g.

Standard

Leave a Reply

